Skip to main content

Daily Journal #

Links, thoughts, and photos I feel like sharing. One post per day…usually.

2022


Tuesday, November 29, 2022

·1 min
I’m having one of those days where I want to burn my whole process to the ground and start over.

Sunday, November 27, 2022

·1 min
I took a couple of days away from social media and it was refreshing, but I’m heading back in to Mastodon today.

Tuesday, November 22, 2022

·1 min
If Leica can re-introduce the M6 from 20 years ago, maybe Ricoh will show up with a new GR1v.

Monday, November 21, 2022

·1 min
Give everyone a fair chance to advance in the world on the merit of their talent and content of their character.

Thursday, November 17, 2022

·1 min
When I grow frustrated with indecision around my note-taking process, I often seek refuge in paper notebooks.

Monday, November 14, 2022

·1 min
As much as I love Denote for notes, I almost always add my notes to the wiki instead.

Saturday, November 12, 2022

·1 min
I’ve used and loved an Ember Mug for a couple years and never felt the need to pair it with the companion app.

Friday, November 11, 2022

·1 min
I am still waffling about whether I want to run my own Mastodon instance forever.

Tuesday, November 08, 2022

·1 min
I don’t trust any YouTube channels with perfect lighting and neon in the background.

Thursday, October 20, 2022

·1 min
Does anyone know how to use Emacs for just some things and not end up using it for everything?

Wednesday, October 19, 2022

·1 min
Up until very recently, everyone ran their own servers, and much of the progress in tooling that enabled the cloud is available for your own machines as well.

Tuesday, October 18, 2022

·1 min
Today: Tana is more useful long term than Obsidian because it’s an outliner that can easily summarize and display things over time.

Monday, October 17, 2022

·1 min
I’ve noticed that Obsidian people use too many emojis in their templates.

Sunday, October 16, 2022

·1 min
Don’t tell anyone, but yesterday I fired up a new WordPress instance at copingmechanism.

Monday, October 03, 2022

·1 min
Well, my weight hit a new high this morning, so I’ve got that going for me.

Wednesday, August 31, 2022

·1 min
You’d think there’d be at least five new me’s by now, given how often I’ve vowed to become better.

Tuesday, August 30, 2022

·1 min
I switched back to the HHKB this morning because I prefer it by a wide margin to any other keyboard I’ve tried.

Thursday, August 25, 2022

·2 mins
It is unlikely, though not impossible, that someone sickened by China’s campaign against the Uyghurs is indifferent to the plight of migrants or supportive of retaining the detention center at Guantánamo.

Wednesday, August 24, 2022

·1 min
Did you know that you can toggle the display of hidden (dot) files in macOS Finder by hitting Command-Shift-.

Tuesday, August 23, 2022

·1 min
I’ve finally gotten access to DALL-E but I promise not to share every single thing I ask it to generate.

Monday, August 22, 2022

·1 min
I received several nice responses to the recent newsletter and that makes me feel pretty good.

Saturday, August 20, 2022

·1 min
…all I’m saying is that technology can’t be responsible for only one kind of progress and wash its robot hands of the other.

Friday, August 19, 2022

·1 min
I don’t know why, exactly, but I fired up a Ghost blog at rudimentarylathe.

Thursday, August 18, 2022

·1 min
I haven’t felt like working hard enough to write complete blog posts recently, so I did the obvious thing and dusted off my old newsletter.

Tuesday, August 16, 2022

·1 min
I’m typing this in Emacs as an Org-mode file and I guess that means Emacs and I have made up after our little tiff yesterday.

Monday, August 15, 2022

·2 mins
I spent many hours yesterday getting my Emacs configuration running (based on Crafted Emacs) so that I could continue using Notmuch for managing email.

Saturday, August 13, 2022

·1 min
Everyone on the internet always talks about the same things over and over and it’s become tedious and a little boring.

Friday, August 12, 2022

·1 min
I tested negative for COVID last night but there’s no way this isn’t COVID.

Tuesday, August 09, 2022

·1 min
I love Leica M cameras so much, but my eyes are becoming more disagreeable to it by the month.

Monday, August 08, 2022

·1 min
I was looking for something that I would have written while using org-roam so I re-enabled org-roam in my config and went looking.

Thursday, August 04, 2022

·1 min
I’ve spent time the past two days moving my email management in Emacs from Mu4e to Notmuch.

Wednesday, August 03, 2022

·1 min
…don’t believe in the hype of magical exominds or second brains that do the work on your behalf—maximise the potential of the one mind you have and the rest will follow from there.

Friday, July 29, 2022

·1 min
Rather than using Org-mode and ox-hugo to generate today’s journal, I used Hugo’s built-in command, so… hugo new /2022/2022-07-29-Friday/index.

Thursday, July 28, 2022

·1 min
I hadn’t planned on doing much customization to the new theme here, but I really wanted to keep my daily journal posts, so here we are.

Tuesday, July 12, 2022

·1 min
There’s a point at which “content creators” go from sharing stuff to selling stuff and it’s around that point that I lose interest.

Saturday, July 09, 2022

·1 min
I think it’s time for YouTubers to calm down with the production values.

Thursday, July 07, 2022

·1 min
Consent-O-Matic is a browser extension that recognizes CMP (Consent Management Provider) pop-ups that have become ubiquitous on the web and automatically fills them out based on your preferences – even if you meet a dark pattern design.

Wednesday, July 06, 2022

·1 min
I’ve given up on configuring my Emacs setup using Rational Emacs and gone back to Doom.

Tuesday, June 28, 2022

·1 min
The other day I got out my can-opener and was opening a can of worms when I thought, What am I doing?

Sunday, June 26, 2022

·1 min
I record the weather when each of these daily posts is created, but I’m not sure why.